I Conquered The Mountain

I think I am going to swallow my pride and post my dad’s favorite picture of me.  It does need a little explaining.  You see this is the day he tried to kill me, not literally.  I have been on this huge exercise kick and have lost tons of weight.  Well I kept telling the Wanderer how well I was doing, so he decided to test me this summer. 

                  

Every summer at the end of June the Wanderer’s brother and his family come into town and we go camping and fishing for 4 or 5 days.  This is me and Tooters favorite thing to do so we look forward to it all year long.  We go up as much as possible on our own, but usually only for a night or two.  Anyways the Wanderer said he was going to put me to the test during our trip.  Of course I got cocky and said, “Bring it on old man!”

 

Bad thing to say, very bad thing to say.  Unknown to me he had also been gearing up for this and hiking a rigorous trail several times a week so he was ready for me.  The first day we backpacked an hour and a half uphill to a little lake for some fishing.  I was a little winded because of the altitude but I made it ahead of him, and I was so proud of myself.  Of course Tooters ran most of the way and put all of us to shame lol. 

 

The next day came the big one.  We got into the jeep and drove for about 45 minutes to the trailhead.  Now we were here the last week of June so it was hot in town, around 100 degrees, but I was amazed that there was some pretty big snow drifts and this was just the start of the hike.  We made it up to the top of the pass after an hour and a half of uphill walking and it was gorgeous, well it was after I caught my breath.  I am amazed at what a difference in altitude does to ones breathing and heart rate.  I thought my chest was going to explode right there at the top of the trail. 

 

All of a sudden I hear the Wanderer and my uncle telling us to come on that we were not done.  I turned around and OMG there was the rest of the mountain ahead of us.  I swear I could hear it laughing at me.  Well I did not want to be the wimp so we started up.  Man was it steep and rocky.  Tooters and the Wonder Pup just kept running around and playing in the snow.  I felt like a 90 year old woman that needed an oxygen tank.  I am not kidding I could not breath and my heart was still threatening to explode out of my chest like an alien.  It finally got to the point I could only walk for a couple of minutes and had to stop.  Another 2 hours of hiking and we got to the top and dammit I could not even enjoy it for the first 20 minutes because I thought for sure I was dying.  The Wanderer just laughed at me and told me to “suck it up”, his favorite saying.  I found out later that the peak is 12,500 feet, no wonder I could not breath I live at 3000 feet where there is actually some air to fill my lungs.

 

After resting and eating a snack it dawned on me that now I had to go back down.  Now tell me how did he expect me to hike 3 ½ hours back down the steep mountain on legs of jelly.  I told him that I found my new home and just send supplies every once in a while.  With some coaxing from Tooters and more teasing from the Wanderer I got up and started back down.  When we got to the top of the first trail I told the Wanderer come hell or high water I was taking a break.  This is when he took this picture without me knowing in my moment of weakness.  As I lay there thinking how much I despised my father at that moment and maybe this was his revenge for my teen years I fell asleep.  I still to this day think he tried to kill me and I have the picture as proof. 

 

Obviously I made it back down and survived but let me tell you I will never brag about how I could out do the old man again.  At least not until next summer lol.

 

Just bury me now!!!!

Just bury me now!!!!

Leave a Reply

