Being Healthy Is Going To Kill Me

Wooo Hooo!!!!!  I have officially been smoke free for one week now.  I am so proud of myself for not giving in to the cravings and buying a pack of smokes.  Even better the people around me have survived my first week.  Don’t get me wrong there were a couple of close calls, and one person that almost became my personal punching bag.  So now that I have quit smoking me and a couple of my friends have decided to try the Master Cleanse fast.  The purpose of this fast is to detoxify your body.   I don’t know if this is really going to work but some of the side effects from the crap I am drinking suggest otherwise.  It is a pretty shitty situation.  I am only on day two and already I think I have flushed out that burger I had back in high school. 

 

I have done juice fasts in the past and they are great afterwards, but it never fails that this is when my friends decide they want to be nice and send home brownies and cookies.  I have a lot of focus and can usually pass it up until I am done with the fast.  However this time I am having a lot harder time because I still want to smoke and I have the munchies from hell.  So last night when I went to pick up Tooters from my friends house I walked in and there she is being all domestic, cooking and baking.  I did not want to be rude and run screaming from her house so I sat there for an hour chatting with her.

 

Let me just tell you that this was torture.  Tooters and her friend sat down for some yummy super chocolaty brownies with milk.  I zoned out and totally imagined myself jumping on the table and attacking the food like a lion in Africa that has not eaten in days.  When Tooters offered me a bite I thought if I did not walk out of there right then I might just bite more than just the brownie. 

 

To top it all off I still had to go home and finish feeding her dinner.  Fried chicken legs and pasta salad never looked so good in my life.  It was like manna from heaven just mocking me from its plate.  After Tooters went to bed I tried to stay up so I could catch Project Runway (I know a guilty pleasure) I had to find out who won.  Sorry no spoilers from me today.  Instead I ended up falling asleep right before they announced the winner.  Well when I woke up a few hours later I had rolled over on the remote and the t.v. was on the Food Network channel.  OMG what a cruel cosmic joke!!!!!!  To top it all off I am suppose to go to the movies tomorrow night with the kids and smell all of that wonderful popcorn.  I guess I am just a glutton for punishment at this point.

 

So I guess my point is, if you choose to do a fast like this don’t start near the end of the work week just to go home to cook for your family all weekend and listen to the snacks beckoning you from the kitchen in the middle of the night.  Start on Monday morning so by the time the weekend gets here you are into so far it will be easier to manage.  I am thinking right now I am going to give it up for the weekend and try to start again on Monday morning.  I know what a wimp!!!

One Response to “Being Healthy Is Going To Kill Me”

  1. Way to go sunny-I was thinking about you the other day and hoping that your smoke ending program was on track. Maybe the juice is good since it will reawaken your taste buds. THEN you’re in trouble. Keep it up girlfriend.
    d

Leave a Reply

